Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Microbiology Logo Microbiology & Immunology
Te Tari Moromoroiti me te Ārai Mate



Research    News    Publications    Opportunities    Links



Fineran Lab April 2021


Current group members 

 U1A2612a copy

Prof. Peter Fineran
Principal Investigator
Office: +64 3 479 7735
Lab: +64 3 479 8373


Rob Fagerlund3 cropped Headshot Leah Smith 09254 SimonJackson5 SuzieWarring4
Dr Rob Fagerlund - Research Fellow Dr Leah Smith - Postdoctoral Fellow
Dr Simon Jackson - Senior Research Fellow Dr Suzie Warring - Postdoctoral Fellow


Dr Nils Birkholz - Postdoctoral Fellow      

 Postgraduate students




David Mayo Munoz

Marina Mahler - PhD Student Tom Hughes - PhD Student (Jackson)

 Leighton Payne - PhD Student

David Mayo Muñoz - PhD Student


Kotara Kamata

Hazel sisson

Kate Harding

Natalie Kyte - PhD Student Kotaro Kamata - PhD Student Hazel Sisson - PhD Student Kate Harding - PhD Student 
 Shaharn Cameron - PhD Student

Natasha Drummy - Honours Student




Lab alumni

Post-doctoral researchers

Sean Meaden, 2020-2022 (Group Leader, University of York, UK)
Lucia Malone, 2020-2021 (Post-doc, TU Delft, NL)
Hannah Hampton, 2018-2021 (Research Scientist, Cawthron Institute, NZ)
Raymond Staals, 2014-2016 (Group Leader, Wageningen University, NL)
Ron Dy, 2013-2014 (currently Group Leader, University of the Phillipines)
Rebekah Frampton, 2011-2012 (Scientist, Plant and Food Research, NZ)
Tamzin Gristwood, 2008-2009 (Scientific Writer, Oxford PharmaGenesis, UK)
Matt McNeil, 2012-2013 (Senior Research Fellow, University of Otago)
Rita Przybilski, 2010-2012 (Research and Enterprise, University of Otago)

Research assistants

James Chang, 2012 (currently University of Otago)
James Clulow, 2010 (currently Nestle, Switzerland)
Marina Iglesias Cans, 2009-2010 (currently Monaghan Biosciences, Ireland)
Andrew McCaw, 2008-2009 (currently Monash University, Australia)
Corinda Taylor, 2012-2018 (currently LifeMatters, NZ)
Tom Wiggins, 2019 (currently Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA)
Max Wilkinson, 2014-2015 (currently Cambridge University, UK)
Manuela Centanni 2019-2023

PhD students

Matthew McNeil, 2009-2012 (currently University of Otago)
Corinna Richter, 2010-2013 (currently Lund University, Sweden)
Ron Dy, 2010-2013 (currently Group Leader, University of the Phillipines)
Adrian Patterson, 2014-2017 (currently BPac, NZ)
Hannah Hampton, 2014-2018 (currently Cawthron Institute, NZ)
Bridget Watson, 2015-2018 (currently University of Exeter, UK)
Mariya Yevstigneyeva, 2016-2019 (currently CytoSMART, Netherlands)
Lucia Malone, 2016-2020 (currently TU Delft, NL)
Leah Smith, 2016-2020 (currently University of Otago)
Aroa Rey Campa, 2016-2020 (currently Leitat, Spain)
Nils Birkholz, 2017-2021 (currently University of Otago)
Tess McBride, 2019-2022 (currently Western Sydney University)
Howard Maxwell, 2018-2023 (currently Scientific Officer for Māori Health Advancement University of Otago)

MSc students

Reuben Vercoe, 2010-2012 (currently University of Otago)
Thomas Paterson, 2010-2013 (currently Forage Agronomist, PGG Wrightson, NZ)
James Chang, 2012-2013 (currently University of Otago)
Koen Semeijn, 2013 (currently University of Sheffield, UK)
Anne Vogel, 2014 (currently Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway)
Sebastian Kieper, 2014-2015 (currently Technical University of Delft, NL)
Nils Birkholz, 2016 (currently University of Otago)
Brian Tong, 2016-2018 (currently AsureQuality, NZ)
Carolin Warnecke, 2017 (currently Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Switzerland)
Tim Ferguson, 2018 (currently AgResearch, NZ)
Zacharie Parquet, 2019 (currently University of Wageningen, NL)
Bridget Fellows, 2019-2021 (currently University of Otago)
Stephanie Trickey, 2020-2021 (currently Walter and Eliza Hall institute of Medical Research, Australia)

BSc and BBioMedSci (Hons) students

James Clulow, 2009 (currently Nestle, Switzerland)
Iris Chan, 2011 (currently Nursing)
James Chang, 2011 (currently University of Otago)
Hannah Hampton, 2013 (currently University of Otago)
Rebecca McKenzie, 2013 (currently Technical University of Delft, NL)
Bridget Watson, 2014 (currently University of Exeter, UK)
Max Wilkinson, 2014 (currently Cambridge University, UK)
Howard Maxwell, 2017 (currently University of Otago)
Nick Donaldson, 2018 (currently Tufts School of Medicine, Boston, USA)
Tess McBride, 2018 (currently University of Otago)
Leighton Payne, 2019 (currently University of Otago)
Maureen Yin, 2019 (currently Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
Kotaro Kamata, 2020 (currently University of Otago)
Hazel Sisson, 2020 (currently University of Otago)
Thomas Ware, 2020 (currently University of Otago)
Natalie Kyte, 2020 (currently University of Otago)
Kate Harding, 2021 (currently University of Otago)
Shaharn Cameron, 2021 (currently University of Otago)
Fern Booker, 2021
Tom Hughes, 2021 (currently University of Otago)
Lela Hassan, 2022
Ella Silk, 2022 (currently University of Otago)
Josh Byford-Pothan, 2022
Megan McLeod, 2022 (Jackson, currently University of Otago)
Joel Haste, 2022 (Jackson, currently University of Otago)
Grace Suhono, 2022 (Gumy)

PGDipSci students

Annie Huang, 2009 (currently AsureQuality, NZ)
Brian Tong, 2015 (currently AsureQuality, NZ)
Tim Ferguson, 2016 (currently AgResearch, NZ)

Summer students

James Clulow, 2008-2009 (currently Nestle, Switzerland)
Thomas Paterson, 2009-2010 (currently Forage Agronomist, PGG Wrightson, NZ)
Tahlia Whiting, 2010-2011 (currently Lincoln High School Science teacher)
James Chang, 2011-2012 (currently University of Otago)
Bridget Watson, 2012-2013 and 2013-2014 (currently University of Otago)
Max Wilkinson, 2013-2014 (currently Cambridge University, UK)
Elizabeth Prentice, 2013-2014 (currently University of Otago)
Blair Ney, 2014-2015 (currently University of Canberra, Australia)
Danni Chen, 2014-2015 (currently University of Otago)
Alison Morey, 2015-2016 (currently Monash University, Australia)
Howard Maxwell, 2016-2017 (currently University of Otago)
Nick Donaldson, 2017-2018 (currently Tufts School of Medicine, Boston, USA)
Maureen Yin, 2018-2019 (currently Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
Tess McBride, 2018-2019 (currently University of Otago)
Leighton Payne, 2019-2020 (currently University of Otago)
Thomas Ware, 2019-2020 (currently University of Otago)
Natalie Kyte, 2019-2020 (currently University of Otago)
Nicholas Keestra, 2020-2021 (currently University of Otago)
Aileen Harwood, 2020-2021 (currently University of Otago)
Kate Harding, 2020-2021 (currently University of Otago)
Fern Booker, 2020-2021 (currently University of Otago)
Shaharn Cameron, 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 (currently University of Otago)
Ella Silk, 2021-2022 (currently University of Otago)
Daniel Vallabhjee, 2021-2022
Megan McLeod, 2021-2022 (currently University of Otago)


Desiree Cossyleon, 2010 (currently Indiana University, USA)
Angela Holguin Moreno, 2012 (currently University of Toronto, Canada)
Elena Lopez Acedo, 2014 (Extremadura, Spain)
Jacob Marogi, 2018 (Gettysberg, USA)
Gisela Parmeciano Di Noto, 2018 (Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Luciano Rigano, 2018 (Universidad de Mendoza, Argentina; currently MPI NZ)