Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Microbiology Logo Microbiology & Immunology
Te Tari Moromoroiti me te Ārai Mate

Trio wins best paper for 2014 at OSMS awards

Posted by on 22 December 2014 | Comments

Kiel Hards, Dr Chris Greening and Professor Greg Cook were awarded the best paper prize at the 2014 Otago School of Medical Sciences (OSMS) annual end of year prize-giving.         

The paper, entitled A soil actinobacterium scavenges atmospheric H2 using two membrane-associated, oxygen-dependent [NiFe]-hydrogenases, was published in PNAS (The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America) in March.

Each year the OSMS celebrate its top teachers, researchers and support staff, with 12 awards presented this year.

Professor Vernon Ward, Dean of OSMS, said: “The awards presented at this ceremony and the many accolades won by staff and students in the Otago School of Medical Sciences over the past year showcase the strength in research and teaching within the School. The award winners for 2014 are an outstanding group and a highlight of this ceremony has been the opportunity to recognise academic and general staff and students from across the OSMS.”

Download the paper (PDF):

Greening, C., Berney, M., Hards, K., Cook, G. M., & Conrad, R. (2014). A soil actinobacterium scavenges atmospheric H2 using two membrane-associated, oxygen-dependent [NiFe] hydrogenases. PNAS111(11), 4257-4261. doi: 10.1073/pnas.1320586111 

kiel greg chris OSMS award 

L to R: Kiel Hards, Professor Greg Cook, Dr Chris Greening