Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Microbiology Logo Microbiology & Immunology
Te Tari Moromoroiti me te Ārai Mate

Ros Kemp receives Teaching Excellence Award

Posted by on 3 March 2015 | Comments

Dr Ros Kemp has been recognised as one of the University of Otago's outstanding lecturers in the 2015 Teaching Excellence Awards.

Dr Kemp, a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, says the award is very important to her.

"I love teaching the students at Otago - they come from all over the country and from all walks of life. It is fun trying to lecture such diverse audiences, and to follow the success of individual students.

"The University emphasises research productivity, especially for academic staff, but our undergraduate students are the next generation of researchers. Teaching them well and supporting their development into scientists is important to me."

Vice Chancellor Harlene Hayne said, “To win this award, each has demonstrated that they are an inspiration to both their fellow colleagues, and their students. The standard they consistently set themselves is always very high indeed and I wholeheartedly endorse their selection.”

Other recipients of the Teaching Excellence Award this year are Dr Rachel Zajac, a Senior Lecturer in Psychology, and Associate Professor Christine Jasoni, a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Anatomy. Associate Professor Jacinta Ruru, a Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Law, received the kaupapa Māori award. 

teaching excellence awards

The winners of this year's University of Otago Teaching Excellence Awards (from left) Dr Ros Kemp, Dr Rachel Zajac, Associate Professor Jacinta Ruru and Associate Professor Christine Jasoni. Photo courtesy of Sharron Bennett.