Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Microbiology Logo Microbiology & Immunology
Te Tari Moromoroiti me te Ārai Mate

Dr Judith Bateup receives University of Otago Teaching Excellence Award

Posted by on 1 March 2016 | Comments

Dr Judith Bateup, Senior Teaching Fellow for the 200-level programme, has been honoured with a University of Otago Teaching Award, presented in a ceremony in the Clocktower Building yesterday.

Professor Vernon Squire, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) warmly congratulated the recipients. “To win this award, each has demonstrated that they are an inspiration to both their fellow colleagues, and their students. They personify the considerable value this University puts on teaching as well as research.”

Dr Bateup says the award reflects the significant contribution the Department of Microbiology and Immunology makes to the teaching of undergraduate programmes at Otago, and it is fantastic that the University acknowledges teaching through the awards. She hopes to use the award to attend the American Society of Microbiology conference for undergraduate educators sometime in the future.

The other winners in this round of awards were Associate Professor Clinton Golding (Higher Education Development Centre), Professor Diana Sarfati of (Wellington’s Department of Public Health) and Professor Darryl Tong (Oral Diagnostics and Surgical Sciences).

Judith Bateup teaching award

Three of Otago's four Teaching Excellence Award recipients. From left: Associate Professor Clinton Golding, Dr Judith Bateup and Professor Darryl Tong. Absent: Professor Diana Sarfati. Photo: Sharron Bennett.

Read the media release on the University of Otago website