Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Microbiology Logo Microbiology & Immunology
Te Tari Moromoroiti me te Ārai Mate

Department 'Research Celebration' recognises top presentations and posters

Posted by on 1 December 2016 | Comments

The annual Department of Microbiology and Immunology Research Celebration, held last Friday, was an opportunity for staff, students and invited speakers to come together to share and discuss the exciting scientific research being produced by the department.

Prizes were provided for the top posters on display and the attendees' favourite 3-minute presentation. Congratulations to the winners of the categories listed below and thank you to the sponsors who provided the prize money and helped to make the day such a huge success.

ThermoFisher Molecular Biology Poster

Winner: Manmeet Bhalla (PhD, Ireton Lab)

Runner up: Shaun Ferguson (PhD, Ronson Lab)

Lab Supply General Microbiology Poster

Winner: Leah Smith (PhD, Fineran Lab)

Runner up: Mariya Yevstigneyeva (PhD, Fineran Lab)

Medi'Ray Immunology Poster

Winner: Brin Ryder (PhD, Kirman Lab)

Runner up: Kirsten Ward-Hartstonge (PhD, Kemp Lab)

Millenium Science Technical Poster

Winner: Brian Tong (MSc, Bostina/Fineran Lab)

Runner up: Gabriella Stuart (Technician, Wise Lab)

pH Scientific Best 3-minute Oral Presentation

Brin Ryder (PhD, Kirman Lab)

Best Student Poster

Winner: Brin Ryder (PhD, Kirman Lab)

Runner up: Manmeet Bhalla (PhD, Ireton Lab)

Gerald and Anne Louise Research Celebration

Professor Gerald Tannock and invited speaker Anne-Louise Heath announce the launch of the new research theme Microbiome Otago

Brin Clive Research Celebration

Head of Department Professor Clive Ronson presents the Best 3-minute Presentation trophy to Brin Ryder