Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Microbiology Logo Microbiology & Immunology
Te Tari Moromoroiti me te Ārai Mate

Biomedical Sciences School Awards Function

Posted by on 11 December 2019 | Comments

Tuesday 10th December: Microbiology staff received four awards in the annual Biomedical Sciences School Award function. We also farewelled our Dean, Professor Vernon Ward. 

There was a lot to celebrate at this years Biomedical School (BMS) Award function. Not only did we celebrate the successes and milestones within the School but also in the Department. We farewelled Professor Vernon Ward as Dean of the School. He is stepping down as Dean and will return to the Department to focus on his recent MBIE grant. We look forward to your return Vernon and we would like to express our sincerest gratitude and strong leadership over the last 5 years as Dean of the Biomedical School. Your contributions and guidance through the high and lows have been greatly appreciated. 


79389379 1542304102644486 3200225109147123712 n

Professor Vernon Ward giving his last address as Dean.

Several staff members from the department were recognised for their outstanding contribution to the school and to their department. Dr Jen Robson was awarded the BMS Distinguished Teaching Fellow for Sciences. The School acknowledged Jen's exceptional contribution to teaching and her friendly welcoming teaching style. Dr Judith Bateup received the BMS Distinguished Academic Teacher Award. Judith has contributed to teaching and outreach within the Department and the School for 25 years and was recently became a Companion of the Royal Society Te Apārangi. Mr Allan Clark was awarded the BMS Research Support Strategic Contribution. This was in recognition of Allan's huge contribution to supporting staff and research in the department. And lastly Professor Clive Ronson received the BMS Service to the School Award for his his continual service and contributions to the BMS over the last 10 years. 


79246467 716711845404364 3732768708452417536 n

From left: Dr Jen Robson, Dr Judith Bateup and Mr Allan Clark. 

78050070 787321365025466 6930360444301344768 n

Professor Clive Ronson receiving his award. 

 * Tom Devine